We're operating as normal during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak. To see more information on how we're managing the situation - CLICK HERE

Blog

The dangers of using autofill on your DBS application.jpg (1)

The Dangers of Using Autofill on Your DBS Application

What is autofill?

Autofill settings are easily definable. They are settings on your internet browser that remember frequently entered personal information (names, addresses, passwords etc.).  When faced with a form online, they automatically fill the required info into the correct fields.

For internet users that remember the early days, autofill settings were a revalation. No longer did we have to rely on hastily written passwords at the back of a diary or rogue scraps of paper lying about.

But for some users, autofill will have been around for their entire internet experience. They feature on every internet browser and device and save us a lot of time. But they can become problematic.

What’s this got to do with my DBS application?

Some of the most common errors that we face are caused by autofill settings. These include, but are not restricted to:

  • Duplicated information such as names and addresses
  • Incorrect information is automatically filled
  • Login problems. Your browser can remember login details for your old DBS applications.

Most of these errors are easily corrected BUT it relies on people noticing the errors. 

When people don’t notice these errors it can cause serious problems. If the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) receive an application form that contains incorrect information, it invalidates the checking process. 

This means the DBS will withdraw the application and the entire process starts again. What seems like a minor error can end up wasting a lot of time and money.

 

Withdraw my application? Really?

Unfortunately, so!

All applicants have to sign a declaration at the end of the form. This is the case for paper applications or an online form done with us. The declaration looks like this:

It’s very unlikely that you would be prosecuted for something your computer did. However, it does underline just how important it is to check your info.

With the DBS processing over 3 million checks a year, its understandable why they refuse to amend errors. That’s about 5% of the UK population checked every single year.

If they had to amend even a tenth of them, it would be a serious logistical operation. 

How do I switch them off?

We do understand that these settings are useful so you don’t need to switch them off forever. The instructions below outline how to turn these off in some of the most commonly used browsers:

  • Google Chrome – Open Settings. Click Advanced, and select the appropriate settings under Manage Passwords.
  • Mozilla Firefox – Open Options. Click Privacy, and under History, select “Firefox will: Use custom settings for history.” In the new window, disable “Remember search and form history.”
  • Apple Safari – Open Preferences. Select the Auto-fill tab, and turn off features related to usernames and passwords.

When you’ve finshed completing your form, you would just reverse the above instructions. Your browser will still remember all your infomration but it won’t have compromised your DBS application.

That’s all there is to it! But always try and remember that, when you are doing important things online, you shouldn’t rely on your computer to do the job for you.

0 Comments

Leave a comment